Getting All Political…

I’m really not that into politics. Or rather, I used to not be really into politics. I’m taking a class this year that’s really increased my interest, though.

As you also know, I’m into the whole natural beauty movement thanks to the one and only Crunchy Betty (and seriously if you haven’t checked her blog out yet, you should).

Today, my two new interests collided when I saw this article from the Huffington post. It’s about the Safe Cosmetics Act 2011 (SCA). Sounds good right? Who doesn’t want safe cosmetics? So it sounds like something I’d be all for, right? Which is why I was interested to see that Crunchy Betty herself vehemently opposed it.

I was confused, I admit. I read the article and didn’t see the wider implications of the SCA. Won’t this legislation just force companies to be more transparent about what’s going into their products? This is a good thing, is it not?

Crunchy Betty did a post about the SCA here that explained why she opposed the act. I understood her point but still did not feel I fully understood what the SCA meant for small businesses. The impact on small business is important because pretty much every place we “crunchy” types get our natural products is a small business. You can’t really find raw honey or castile soap in your local Wal-Mart.

So I read this article for another opinion on the matter and finally it all fell together and I understood.

While yes, the SCA would start forcing companies to be more careful about what substances are going into our cosmetic products, the requirements of the legislation would force the all natural small business industry down the tubes. Even though there are exemptions for small business, the requirements of the legislation are enormous and are simply not attainable on a small business budget.

So here’s my thinking.

Instead of forcing more legislation down everyone’s throats (because, really, how effective is it anyway? Hasn’t the FDA been around like, forever? And yet there are still all sorts of terrifying things in cosmetics and household products), we, as consumers, need to educate ourselves about what’s in the products we’re using.

Most likely, you’ll be shocked and disgusted. If you want a little jump-start on educating yourself, check this out. Hopefully what you learn will make you want to learn about alternatives. That’s what happened to me and now I’m proud to say I make healthier choices about the products I use.

If everyone took this mentality and educated themselves, companies that use toxic chemicals in their products would be forced to change their ways. No one would buy products they knew to be dangerous and thus there would be no demand.

I like education as a means of change better than more laws.

Anyway, here’s a link to the entire Safe Cosmetics Act 2011. Check it out yourself. I’m curious about everyone else’s opinions.

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Crunchiness, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting All Political…

  1. Julie Montinieri says:

    SUCH common sense babe! I want to check all the links.

Leave a Reply

