Oreo Cupcakes

Tonight I found myself in a rare situation. I had nothing to do. Literally nothing. And my friends and boyfriend were busy so I had a whole evening to myself…

So naturally I made cupcakes.

I browsed through my “Sweet Noms” board on Pinterest and picked out these beauties. Please don’t click on the link and see how beautiful hers look. Because mine look like trash but they were SO GOOD.

As we know, Pinterest inspires me to try all sorts of fun things. Pinterest also makes said things look easy and I end up failing at all my endeavors. Luckily, it didn’t matter what my cupcakes looked like, because when all was said and done, I devoured them and they were to die for.

Ingredients:

Cupcakes

  • 1 box vanilla cake mix
  • Ingredients to cook mix as directed
  • 24 Oreos

Filling

  • 13 oz jar Fluff
  • 1 stick of salted butter, softened
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Frosting (from Paula Dean’s Red Velvet Cupcakes, but modified)

  • 1 pound cream cheese, softened
  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • The rest of the box of Oreos
**Note: I ended up with A LOT of filling and frosting left over…you could probably cut the recipe in half and still have enough for 24 cupcakes.

To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350F. I always forget to preheat. Line muffin tins with liners. Place an Oreo in the bottom of each liner.

Prepare the cake mix as directed. Fill the liners 2/3 full. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes or until the tops spring back when lightly touched.

To make the filling: Beat the Fluff, butter, vanilla and heavy cream until it is smooth. Being allergic to peanut butter, I’ve never had a peanut butter and fluff sandwich, and thus, this was my first experience with Fluff. That stuff is sticky! Combining the ingredients takes a while, just keep at it. Add the powdered sugar slowly, bit by bit, until it’s all combined and smooth. Just go ahead and eat a spoonful, you have permission. You’ll also be covered in Fluff and sugar by this point.

To make the frosting: Beat the cream cheese, vanilla extract and butter until smooth. Slowly add the powdered sugar until it’s all combined. Fold in the crushed Oreos.

To assemble: Once the cupcakes are cool, fill the centers with the marshmallow filling. You can do this by spooning it in or by using a pastry bag and piping it in. This is where I started to go downhill. I attempted to pipe in the marshmallow filling and it went wrong in several ways (note: I’ve never made a cupcake with filling before…so you live you learn, you know?).

1 – I tried to use this cool trick I found for filling piping bags. This trick has worked for me before but it did not work for me today. I tried to put way too much marshmallow into the bag…

step 1 – lay out saran wrap

step 2 – pour mixture to be piped onto saran wrap

step 3 – realize this is not going to work like it did with a dollop of frosting…

step 4 – secretly add a second piece of saran wrap, roll the wrap around the mixture to be piped and swing it around to seal off the edges.

step 5 – force the piping packet into a piping bag, ignore how much is hanging out the back, and attach piping tip.

Step 6 – proceed to attempt to pipe filling into cupcakes. The back of the saran wrap pod will explode, covering you with marshmallow filling.

**Note: this piping bag/saran wrap method does work and it’s actually awesome. I’ve used it before with great success. Obviously the lesson learned here is that it only works with a couple spoonfuls of frosting…not like a pound of marshmallow filling.

2 – I didn’t wait for my cupcakes to cool all the way so cake crumbs kept getting all over my piping tip.

3 – I didn’t have a piping tip wide enough to accommodate the rather thick filling, so the harder I squoze (yeah, we’re going to pretend that’s a word) the bag to squeeze out the filling, the more marshmallow oozed out the back. I made a very big mess.

the mess is cleverly omitted from these pictures.

4 – I re-attempted the piping bag trick with the frosting, but somehow managed to over-fill the bag again and had the same exploding problem. I also didn’t have the proper tip for piping frosting mountains onto cupcakes, so that was a fail, and I ended up just frosting my cupcakes with a knife.

Yeah, they’re not winning any beauty prizes. My mom’s been into that Food Network show Sweet Genius and when she saw them, she declared that I was “no sweet genius.” But whatever.

Seriously, these things taste amazing. I am very pleased with how they came out, though I did have quite the clean-up job after (thanks, Mom, for helping). For my first attempt at a cupcake with a filling, I’d say they weren’t bad…my technique needs some work though!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oreo Cupcakes

  1. I can testify they are YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

