Walk A Mile

I’m opinionated. I’m bossy. When I’m passionate about something, I’m very stubborn. I usually think my own way of doing things is the best way. I can be really annoying.

Which is why lately I’m taking time to step back and appreciate the work other people do. I have a terrible tendency to get wrapped up in what I want done, how I think things should go, and what I think is the best way, when in reality I should be finding ways to support and help those who are actually making those decisions, and making them well.

Today I’m going to make a promise to myself to rein it in a little. Those people who are in a leadership position are there for a reason and it is not anyone’s place to try to do their job better than them. Rather than thinking to myself always how I would do things, what I would do differently, I’m going to focus on being more supportive.

What if it were me in charge, calling the shots, and making decisions? The last thing I would want would be for other people to be whispering about what they would rather I be doing. Being the top man is a tough enough job as it is without someone questioning your every move.

I applaud everyone who takes on a leadership position, willingly or not, because it’s not an easy undertaking. Teaching, coaching, being president of a club, captain of a team, or leader of a study group…it’s a lot of pressure and people who I know in those kinds of positions are not only excellent leaders, but wonderful people as well.

So forge ahead, leaders! I’ll be right behind you.

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

