21

Joey and I were sitting on my bed looking at my phone at 11:59pm on February 4, 2011. When the clock flipped to midnight, displaying February 5, he yelled, “Happy Birthday!” and I was so excited that I yelled it too.

Birthdays are a big deal for me. I think that on your birthday you deserve the best freaking day ever. So I’m doing everything I want to do today. I’m eating cake for every meal, mozz stix twice…maybe three times…in one day, I’m sleeping late, dancing at basketball games, going out with my friends for dinner, and getting my own basket of rolls at Bertucci’s. When it’s your birthday you are entitled to whatever pleases you, because it’s your birthday.

I’m already on a roll because last night, Joey arrived bearing presents that I patiently waited until midnight to open. At dinner last night I discovered that my favorite employee of the college, Patty in the bakery, had set aside a piece of the ever-popular (and oh-so-elusive) Oreo cheesecake so that I could have a piece for dinner!

When I handed Mike (another one of my bakery friends) my ID to pay, he told me it had already been taken care of! šŸ™‚

šŸ™‚

Joey and I spent my last night being twenty watching all the episodes of Jersey Shore he’d missed then anxiously counting down the seconds until it was officially my 21st!

Promptly at midnight my three roommates came running in (they had been busily studying for their midterm this morning) and presented me with a full-to-the-brim shot of vanilla vodka, which I took like a champ, just because it wasn’t illegal for me to do so.

This morning when I opened my door I discovered purple streamers hanging down along with several lovely hand-made decorations by my friends. It made me really excited for the rest of the day; I know it’s going to be good! It’s my birthday!!!!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Special Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 21

  1. Marisa Montinieri says:

    HAPPY 21st BEAUTIFUL GIRL ~~~ I AM WISHING YOU THE BEST TODAY AND ALWAYS, LOVE YOU SO MUCH, XOXO AUNTIE “M” … ā¤

  2. Taylor says:

    Happy Birthday! I would totally have a while basket of rolls at Bertucci’s too. šŸ™‚ They’re my favorite!

  3. cupidsbow says:

    It’s a day late, but Happy Birthday anyway! I hope you had a fab day, it sounds as though you did! I love my birthday too – it really is such a special day and you deserve to do everything you want to! xx

  4. Pingback: Patty <3 | MMWords

Leave a Reply

