The Happy Book

What makes you happy? Easy question, right? If I won the lottery I’d be really happy. I’d pay for the entire team to go to Nationals, buy out my own parking space in du Lac for the rest of my college career, and ensure there was an endless supply of Italian paninis and mozz stix for lunch.

But that’s not really what I’m looking for when I ask “what makes you happy?”

For my birthday, my friends got me something called The Happy Book. Yesterday, amid procrastination, I decided to start looking at it. I opened up to the first page and read the introduction about learning to practice happiness so that it’s easier to access. Every page has different instructions designed to work your “happy muscle” so that when you’ve finished the book you not only have a record of anything and everything happy, you’ve learned how to cultivate your own happiness!

This sounded great to me, so I got right to work on the first page that asked me to list the things that made me happy from big to small, to profound, to simple. Here’s what I came up with after ten minutes:

  • Joey
  • My friends
  • Birthdays
  • Dancing
  • New York
  • Stuffed animals, Harold*
  • Double stuffed Oreos
  • Oreo milkshakes
  • Italian paninis
  • Fresh laundry
  • Music
  • Mozzarella Sticks
  • Cheesecake
  • Convertibles
  • Loud stereos
  • The beach
  • Driving
  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • Johnny Depp
  • Orlando Bloom
  • Mythbusters
  • Glee
  • Lost
  • Swimming
  • Jersey Shore
  • New razors/smooth legs
  • Hot showers
  • Comics
  • Monday crosswords
  • Eye makeup
  • Pictures
  • Thanksgiving
  • Bolognese sauce
  • SCDT
  • Nationals
  • Banana bread
  • Patty
  • Basketball
  • Reading
  • Harry Potter
  • My blue sunglasses
  • My old Honda
  • Dance 10
  • Rain
  • Thunder
  • Sun tanning
  • New music
  • Frosting
  • Cookies
  • Meatballs
  • Flowers
  • Shells
  • Funny stories
  • Puppies
  • Bright colors
  • Mac and cheese with hot dogs
  • Twilight (books)
  • Nail polish
  • Glitter
  • My puma boots
  • Tennis
  • Hot chocolate
  • Mint
  • BDC
  • Notifications
  • Writing
  • Movies
  • Snuggling
  • Sledding
  • Snow
  • Texts
  • Presents
  • Sunshine

At the end of my list (or when I ran out of room on the page) I sat back and looked over my list. Twelve of seventy-three items were food. Fifteen of seventy-three were food-related. That’s 20% of my happiness stemming from food. I shouldn’t be surprised considering when I wake up in the morning, my initial motivation for getting out of bed is banana bread from Patty in the bakery approximately 93% of the time.

Other than food, I think I put together a pretty good list. I want to keep adding to it though. I put a lot of broad things like “dancing,” “writing,” and “reading.” I want more specifics…little things that make me happy within those broader categories. Like instead of just putting “dancing,” I could write: “having a good turning day,” or “when choreography matches the music perfectly.” There’s value in noticing the little things that make you happy and I really want to work on that.

I have the feeling that there might be a series of posts regarding The Happy Book in the future of this blog.

*Harold is a new addition to our dorm room, he merits an entire post, so stay tuned.

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Happy Book

  1. cupidsbow says:

    Sounds like a great book – I think my list would be similar in length to yours, which can only be a good thing right? It has to be nice to have so many things that can make you smile!

  2. Julie says:

    Great post. You are a happy kid! Joey gets the #1 spot! I’m guessing Harold is Katherine’s thingy from her mom?

  3. Autumn says:

    Saw the title of your post & it reminded me of this blog I get updates from – it always reminds me of more things that make me smile & I thought I’d share πŸ™‚
    http://1000awesomethings.com/

Leave a Reply

