5, 6, 7, 8…I’m TRYING to Sleep!

Good news, everyone! I can talk again! Hooray! I sort of sound like I’ve been chain-smoking for fifty years, but it’s easier than trying to mime out everything I’m thinking. The past few days I’ve had to decide what thoughts were worth the effort of trying to convey. The result was that a lot of the time I was having private jokes with myself as I couldn’t share my funny side comments with anyone.

Today’s daily post suggestion was what keeps you up at night? Now that I’m not sniffling/coughing/rasping anymore there are other things that keep me from catching those precious Z’s.

All my other dance team girls can sympathize…Nationals keeps me up at night. Most of the time I’m running through the latest eight counts that we worked on over and over again until my brain remembers all the cleaning we did. Then I’ll just visualize our dance from start to finish, twitching as I remember all the pom movements. One two, three four, five and six and SEVEN, eight!

When and if my brain isn’t occupied with the choreography, I work my stomach into knots thinking about that finals stage.

Dancing on that stage last year was the biggest adrenaline rush I’ve ever felt. You hear the announcer say your college’s name and you turn past the curtains onto the floor. The floor is spread out before you, the cameras are right there. You can’t see the judges because of the lights, but you know they are watching. Fog billows around us as we make our entrance and you can feel your heart slamming against your ribs. The lights flash and the cheers of the crowd are assaulting your eardrums. Everything slows down; you are a rock star. I can see our coach cheering, probably – okay, definitely just as nervous as we are. And then, the music starts.

Usually this is where my imagination goes blank because I just can’t imagine doing our dance at Nationals yet. Mostly because there’s still so much work to be done.

Now is when I usually have a mini panic attack that Nationals is only two months away, then I go back to frantically counting through the choreography again. One two three, FOUR five six, one two three, FOUR five six…

To ease my worries a little, I’ve been watching last year’s Nationals routine. I remember being just as freaked out about it being ready on time…and look how good it turned out!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Dance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5, 6, 7, 8…I’m TRYING to Sleep!

  1. Julie says:

    You guys look GREAT in the nationals footage! You’ll be even better this year!

Leave a Reply

