My Top Three Big East Moments

I’m a UCONN basketball fan. Always have been, always will be. So naturally, around this time of year my TV is almost constantly set to ESPN and I keep my bracket on me at all times.

Since the start of the Big East Tournament last week I tuned in to cheer on my Huskies and I was not let down. Every game was a fight to the end with Kemba Walker reminding me of why I love him so much. Despite being a young team, the Huskies battled through five days and five games to come out Big East Champions. Freshmen Jeremy Lamb, Shabazz Napier, Niels Giffey, Tyler Olander, and Roscoe Smith played with control and determination under strong leadership from Kemba. Other players like Alex Oriakhi and Jamal Coombs-McDaniel also played well and contributed to the Huskies’ five wins.

One of my favorite moments was, obviously, Kemba’s buzzer beater against Pittsburgh.

I don’t know what’s better, Kemba’s Mom’s reaction, or Calhoun’s!

I was sitting alone in my dorm room (my roommate and suite-mates were in class, and wouldn’t have been nearly as excited as I was anyway), not breathing, wringing my hands and leaning towards the screen as the final seconds counted down. When McGhee went down just before Kemba’s shot, I knew it was over. At the swish of the net, I sprang from my chair yelling like a lunatic and jumping around my room.

Second favorite moment was Kemba’s dunk on Peyton Siva of Louisville.

Kemba’s one of the smaller guys out there at only 6’1″ but you wouldn’t know that by the way he dunks on Siva. There was a lot of talk about Siva being Louisville’s leading man going into the championship game, so seeing our leading man take the ball from him like it was nothing, and dunk it was one of those oh helllllll yes! moments.

Final favorite moment (I could make this list go on forever, but I’ll limit it to a top three) was Lamb’s shot to put UCONN up one with less than thirty seconds to go.

I love that the younger guys on UCONN’s team have stepped up so that it hasn’t been so much “The Kemba Walker Show,” not that that was too bad either. Led by Walker, the freshmen on the Huskies are already a force to be reckoned with which only means the years to come could hold great things for UCONN.

Now that they’ve got the Big East title under their belts, the Huskies have a few days of rest before they turn to the Big Dance where they’ll face Bucknell in the second round.

After Selection Sunday I printed out two brackets. The first one I filled out was more for my own enjoyment. You always hear about people filling out brackets based on team colors or something else ridiculous, but this year I decided to fill out my bracket based on how good each school’s dance team is. As I said, this is more for fun than anything, but it will be interesting to see how it compares to what actually happens!

What would be even funnier would be if my “dance team bracket” did even better than my real bracket, which I’m still working on. What are your picks?

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Special Events and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

