Patty <3

I don’t know if any one has picked up on this…but I really love food. Mostly food that falls into the category of dessert. It really should come as no surprise that my favorite station in our dining hall is the bakery.

I’ve visited a fair amount of college campuses and I can say with absolute certainty that of the ones I’ve seen, we definitely have the best food and our bakery leaves all others in the dust.

Every morning there’s a beautiful array of treats displayed. Various types of cheesecake, chocolate cake, raspberry bars, sugar cookies, s’mores cookies, lemon bars, seven-layer bars, pudding, jello, croissants, cinnamon rolls, tarts, chocolate chip cookies, m&m cookies, pie…honestly you name it, our bakery probably has it at least one day of the week.

Of all the deliciousness the bakery produces, my favorite treat is the banana bread. Almost every day, for the past three years, I have gotten a piece of banana bread from the bakery for breakfast. Needless to say, I’ve gotten pretty friendly with the workers who regularly man the bakery.

Patty is my absolute favorite. She’s there Monday-Friday in the mornings. Last year, one day I went up to the bakery and asked for my usual piece of banana bread. For the first time that I could remember, Patty informed me that there were none left. Upon seeing my crestfallen face, Patty asked, “You get one every day don’t you?”

I told her that yes, I did get one every day, but today I would settle for a bagel.

From then on, Patty saved me a piece of banana bread every day. Even if I didn’t make it to breakfast, come lunch time, I would stop at the bakery and pick up my to-go container with my name on it containing a piece of my favorite treat. I never had to worry about those days when the banana bread was particularly good and went quickly, for I had my in.

Patty and I chat every day about the weather, our plans for upcoming breaks, how the dance team is doing…I even shared my encounter with the goose with her.

On my birthday, Patty saved me a piece of Oreo cheesecake, another one of my favorites, and wrote “Meredith, Happy Birthday!” on the container.

The last day of break, I went up to the counter and happily greeted Patty. I panicked for just a moment because even though it was only 9:30am, there was no banana bread on display!

“Don’t you worry, I went back there and said, ‘where’s the banana bread?’ and they told me they didn’t have any. So I said, ‘what am I going to give to Meredith?’ and they whipped these up for you.”

There were four (I inhaled two before Katherine pointed out I should get a picture for my blog) mini banana bread muffins in the container. I thanked Patty profusely and wished her a very Happy Easter.

I hadn’t been hissed at by a goose that morning, and I had gotten a special banana bread treat from the bakery…it was a good day. 🙂

I dedicate this post to Patty who works happily at the bakery. She is the mother of the dining hall and her presence is known and appreciated by all at the college. We love you, Patty!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Food, School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

