Human Trafficking Awareness Day

I thought a post in honor of Human Trafficking Awareness Day was in order.

Sophomore year of college I took a class that took an in-depth look at the world of human trafficking.

I was shocked. Horrified. I lost faith in humanity and wondered how it was possible that our lives continued, uninfluenced by the atrocities occurring not just on the other side of the world, but here, in the United States. My eyes were opened to this issue and I’ve felt a passion for it ever since.

Junior year I took a class where the professor allowed us a lot of freedom with our final project. We could pretty much research whatever we wanted to, so I chose human trafficking. All we had to do was link it to what we had learned in class and we had learned quite a bit so that part wasn’t hard.

Unfortunately, none of my classes really tied into human trafficking this semester, but I haven’t forgotten about it. I try to keep up on articles by Nicholas Kristof about it and try to do what I can for organizations that I think are going about change in the best ways.

The Somaly Mam Foundation is one of those.

Which brings me to the point of today’s post. I know human trafficking isn’t at the forefront of the agenda of most people, that’s alright. But I really think the first way we can work towards change is to educate others about the issue. There’s no way enough people know about this, or else it wouldn’t be allowed to continue…there should be uproar over it, and the lack of uproar is unsettling.

So start here:

Joining on Somaly Mam’s Brothel Bust

Human Trafficking

Sex slaves, human trafficking … in America?

Caged Birds

It’s not really light stuff, so fair warning. But I still think it’s important, or else why would I blog about it? This is just the tip of the iceberg, a few links I could find quickly, but I really encourage you to pursue it further if you wish.

And, for people like myself who are more visual learners, here’s the slide show of my final project for that class last semester. It has very few words because we couldn’t read from the slides, so it’s pretty easy on the eyes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, after doing that, if you’re feeling motivated and if you have the means, I really hope you contribute in some way. It doesn’t have to be to Somaly Mam, though I would recommend it, but find an organization that you believe in.

A great way to donate are these tee-shirts that are being sold to aid sex-trafficking victims.  I ordered mine because 1) it feels good to know I’m helping in some way, and 2) they’re cute tee-shirts!

Well, this blog was a little different from my usual, but I like to spice things up 🙂

Do your part for raising awareness about Human Trafficking…maybe all you do is share this blog post! I’d certainly appreciate it 🙂

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Special Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Human Trafficking Awareness Day

  1. LibriCritic says:

    My sister worked for three years at a home devoted to rehabilitating young girls who were victims of human trafficking. Although she mainly worked with fundraising (lots of filling out paperwork and writing proposals), she was deeply and profoundly affected by the girls she saw passing through the home. It is incredible sad that more attention isn’t being given to the problem human trafficking. Most people, I think, believe it something that only occurs in third world countries, not just down the street from them. Thanks so much for posting this.

Leave a Reply

