Easy Homemade Deodorant

In a fit of crunchiness, I made my first batch of homemade deodorant over the summer.

Mostly I was determined to like it because it was homemade and much better for you. If you don’t know about the dangers of antiperspirants, you can check out a Wikipedia article here. Look for the aluminium neurotoxicity section.

Truth was, there were some major drawbacks of my first attempt at homemade deodorant. I followed this recipe by the one and only Crunchy Betty, who has some really wonderful stuff over on her site.

However, the clay that I used in my recipe turned my deodorant a weird brownish/gray color, which was fine when I wasn’t wearing white, but not so good when I was wearing white (like at work all summer). Also, it wouldn’t stay solid at room temperature. If I left it out on my counter it got all gooey and blegh.

So, although I dutifully used up all my deodorant over the semester (waste not!), I was ready for a new recipe over break.

This time around, I tried this recipe and I couldn’t be happier!

1) I don’t have to store my deodorant in the fridge in my dorm room anymore.

2) It’s white!

3) It feels a lot more like what you’d expect from a commercial deodorant.

4) It really, really works!

5) Of course, it’s all natural, crunchy goodness!

Homemade Deodorant!

I definitely recommend this recipe for the crunchy college community because it is way easier than the first recipe. There are four ingredients and you only really need a microwave or a stove top to soften up your coconut oil. I melted mine in a double boiler before I mixed it with the baking soda and cornstarch so that the mixture would be creamy and easily poured into my cleaned out stick of Dove deodorant. But to make it easier, you could definitely just do as the recipe says and mush it into your container without heating up the oil.

Joey even helped me pick out an essential oil to use in the recipe so my deodorant has a vanilla coconut scent. Yum!

I could have sworn I did a post about washing your face with honey, but for the life of me I can’t find it now…I might have to do a new one because it’s definitely my favorite natural beauty secret!!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Crunchiness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

