You, My Friend, Are Beautiful

I literally wrote a whole post about a plethora of issues.

I ranted about advertising, Photoshop, unrealistic goals, Photoshop, eating healthy, advertising, a class project, Photoshop, and advertising.

Then I re-read it, deleted 90% of it, re-wrote it, re-read it, and deleted all of it and started over. Sometimes I hate blogging.

Instead, I’m going to link to this post by Crunchy Betty which spurred by inspiration for a post, and more eloquently says everything I wanted to. I’m also going to stick this video in here which is the project I ranted about.

I’m also going to throw in some inspirational phrases here that are cheesy and wouldn’t fit neatly into the rant-post but I wanted to include anyway.

Your goal should be to be healthy and strong, whatever that means for your body.

You will never, never, never regret going to the gym.

Do not let the media define what it means to be beautiful.

You, exactly as you are, are gorgeous. Tall, short, thin, curvy, delicate, strong…you are beautiful.

In my fitness quest I’ve realized something slowly. I think this:

Is way sexier than this (which is probably Photoshopped anyway):

I can’t wait to look in the mirror and see a strong woman staring back at me. Strong, like physically strong…I’m already a strong woman in the other sense!!

Also, for those of you keeping track, this week’s workout schedule looked like this:

Monday & Tuesday – Hours and hours of dance team practice. Ow.

Wednesday – Run 2 minutes, walk 3 minutes, repeat eight times. Strengthening workout including crunches on the exercise ball, lunges, lifting, and some leg-toning stuff…three sets of ten reps for each exercise.

Thursday – The 100 Workout. This time I ran the 10 minutes at the end of the workout! Go me!

Friday – 10 minute run before dance team practice.

Saturday and Sunday – Rest. Eat three (count ’em, three) cinnamon sugar bagels from Back Bay over the course of the weekend. Reward for a week of hard work and motivation to get back to the gym Monday morning.

Another note: Katherine and I have kept up our Yoga/mediation routine in the mornings pretty faithfully during the week. It feels so great to wake up in the morning and get all the  stiffness out of my body from sleeping.

Week three of workouts starts tomorrow morning. I’m going to try to do my Wednesday workout again but with only one minute of walking in between running. Wish me luck!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Crunchiness, Dance, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

