Happy Birthday To Me!

Notice the tiny square in the upper right hand corner labeled "Joey." The rest is mine!

My 22nd birthday fell on Superbowl Sunday again!

But the real birthday festivities occurred Friday and Saturday.

Friday:

  • Arrived home at 6:00pm to the smell of my mom’s bolognese sauce in the kitchen. A bunch of family friends came over for dinner which included said bolognese sauce, Carmine’s garlic bread, salad, and apple cake!
  • Presents consisted mostly of money, which sounds boring, but when you’re a broke college kid, it’s exactly what you need.
  • Joey and I played Kingdom Rush, but I’m still stuck on all the same levels!! Grrr.

Saturday:

  • I got Joey up as early as I could so we could go renew our licenses. We look half asleep,  but it wouldn’t be a driver’s license if it was a good picture! I’m just glad Joey smiled in his.
  • After our escapades at AAA, we headed into Hartford to see the Huskies play Seton Hall. Every game I’ve been to, they’ve won, and the streak continued! My Huskies played well and looked like they were enjoying themselves for the first time in forever. During a timeout, someone made a half-court shot and won a trip to Disney!
  • Went out to the bar with Joey, his brother, and his brother’s girlfriend. It was fun to hang out with everyone and I even beat Joey in a game of pool! He only sort of let me win after he won the first two games.
  • Free ice skating in Bushnell Park was perfect. Joey and I glided around the ice watching the fearless kids sprint around the ice. I swear one kid spent more time on his butt than on his feet.
  • Joey’s mom made meatballs for dinner which are my favorite, after Mom’s bolognese. She also made chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting which I ate SIX of (I wish I could say they were small, but they were not).
  • Joey and I stayed up until midnight to officially celebrate my birthday and he gave me my birthday present which merits its own post (stay tuned).

Sunday (my actual Birthday!)

  • Ollie Time! I spent the whole afternoon with my new baby cousin, which is all I could have asked for for my birthday!

That night, it was back to school to watch the Superbowl with the rest of my house. I quietly rooted for the Giants (though I didn’t really have a stake in the game at all) and happily watched the commercials — E trade was my favorite!

I say it every year, but it was the best birthday ever.

When one of our family friends was saying grace before my birthday dinner Friday night, I was struck with an overwhelming sense of happiness. It was one of those moments I mentioned in my “savor” post where I felt that there was nothing more in the world I could want. I was surrounded by friends and family, about to eat my favorite meal, with a whole weekend of birthday fun ahead of me.

I am so thankful for another year to make my own. My 22nd year seems blank and uncertain now, but I that only makes it all the more exciting.

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Special Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

