Friday Favorites [2/17/12]

It should come as no surprise that this week’s Friday favorites will consist mostly of food items. In fact, if you plan on being a regular FF reader, just expect that food will be on here pretty much every week.

1) Xangos.

The one's in the Hill don't look like this...but they taste as good!

Do you have no idea what a Xango is? Well, my friend, I would’ve been right there with you up until this week. Four years I’ve been going to this school, four years I’ve seen Xangos offered in the bakery, four years I’ve had no idea what they were. I had never even seen someone buy one.

This week, for no reason whatsoever, I felt the urge to ask the cashier in the Hill what the heck a Xango was (Zan-go? Chan-go?). He very eloquently described it as follows:

Uh, what’s that stuff…ricotta? No, um, it’s like something in there, wrapped in dough…uh, cheesecake? Yeah, cheesecake wrapped up and fried.

“Yeah, I’m gonna have to try one of those.” From the first bite, I knew I’d found a keeper. A hidden gem of the bakery. How had I managed to ignore it for so long? Cheesy sugary goodness disguised behind a boring facade.

2) Sweet potato fries and honey.

Nom nom nom nom

Thank you, friend Chris, for introducing me to the world of sweet potato fries. Honestly, I never liked them. Give me crispy french fries or spicy curly fries any day of the week, but I just couldn’t work up a taste for these orange buggers.

This week I saw Chris dipping his in honey. He nicely offered to let me try one, and I was hooked. I think I’ve gotten them every day since then.

AND

Added bonus…sweet potatoes are healthier than regular potatoes, so, by the transitive property of healthiness, sweet potato fries are healthier than regular fries. BOOM.

3) This movie trailer:

And, my sister gets credit for discovering this one and knowing that I would LOVE it. Hello, Channing Tatum in all your beautiful-ness.

Besides that, this movie looks hilarious. I died just watching the trailer! What do you guys think?

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Food, Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Favorites [2/17/12]

  1. twindaddy says:

    I’m wanting to see 21 Jump Street. I’ve seen a couple of commercials and a preview for it. It looks pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

