Deception Point

I’m a pretty huge Dan Brown fan. It started with Da Vinci Code, then I went backwards to Angels and Demons, then I plowed through The Lost Symbol. I have really loved all his work, however controversial. Beyond being an amazing and captivating story-teller, I always find I am motivated to do a ton of reading after finishing a Dan Brown. After Da Vinci Code I read about the Holy Grail and some of the claims Brown makes in the story. I loved all the TV specials on the book. And after The Lost Symbol I was obsessed with learning more about Noetic Science. Whatever your opinion, his topics certainly make for great stories.

It was only a matter of time before Deception Point found its way into my hands. I started this book before leaving for break and finished it last night while Joey was passed out on the couch.

And, in case you need the warning, spoiler alert!! Read no further if you don’t wanna know!

I have to say, of the Dan Browns I’ve read, this one is probably my least favorite. For whatever reason, I found Brown’s style rather tiresome. His short chapters are always leaving off on a breathless note and jumping between four or five different threads of the story. I often felt exhausted, wishing we could just stay in one thread for a little longer!

Another thing that contributed to the feeling of being dragged at breakneck speeds through the story was the fact that Rachel, Michael and Corky could not catch a break! It seemed like everything that could go wrong for them did go wrong, which got tiresome and frustrating. For example: They’re going onto the Goya when Rachel is terrified of the ocean? And the boat is positioned over an underwater tornado? And the warm tornado water is attracting hammerhead sharks from a million miles around? And hammerheads are the most vicious sharks ever? And now they’re being attacked by a helicopter? And now they have lost all means of communication? Come on, give ’em a break!

I also found the romantic thread of the story super cheesy. Of course our lead lady, Rachel, would fall for the brainy scientist who just happens to be dashingly handsome and unbelievably charming. And naturally the story would end with their romance finally taking root after a whirlwind adventure. Please. Too cheesy. No thanks.

I do have to say though, that Brown got me on this one. I told Joey when I had about 100 pages left: “I know how this story is going to end! I feel like he’s drawing it out so much! Wrap it up already!” Come to find out, there was a major part of the story that I did not see coming. Which I should have known, because, come on folks, it’s Dan Brown.

When the controller who stepped out of the helicopter was William Pickering I darn near died. Here I was all smug, thinking I knew it was Tench and she was obviously behind this whole thing, and I had it totally backwards.

Another twist that I loved, but totally saw coming, was how Gabrielle switched the stack of envelopes on Senator Sexton right before his big announcement. It was not possible to hate that guy more so I loved watching him and his inflated ego crash and burn in spectacular fashion. It was too bad Gabrielle had to go down with him, but she’s too smart and awesome to work in politics anyway.

On that note, props to Brown for two kick-ass female characters in this one. At first I missed Robert Langdon, but Gabrielle and Rachel made up for him.

Overall, still enjoyed it. Made a pit stop at the library today to pick up The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest and am starting it tonight! PUMPED.

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deception Point

  1. twindaddy says:

    I haven’t read any of his work yet. I’ve been meaning to read the Da Vinci Code for a while now, but keep finding other books before I find that.

Leave a Reply

