The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest

Somehow, this was the only book I got through over my spring break. Probably because I was too busy eating oreos, baking cookies and frying apple rings.

Spoiler alert, as usual, if you haven’t read the book yet and don’t want me to ruin it, read no further!

The last of this Stieg Larsson trilogy definitely different from its¬†predecessors. This one focused very much on Lisbeth’s trial and how the injustice’s of her childhood are brought to light. I missed very much the shock value that the other Larsson books held. There was only one surprising murder/suicide and it was very early on in the novel. In true Larsson style, the book was packed with characters and I found it difficult to keep track of who was who.

Overall though, the third book reminded me a lot more of the first in Larsson’s trilogy, which I liked. The investigation and the revelation of some horrible injustice is what Larsson does best.

I especially enjoyed the epilogue in which Lisbeth gains revenge on her half-brother in the form of a nail gun fired repeatedly through his feet (he has a unique condition in which he cannot feel pain). After a long stretch of questions and investigations, this final bit of revenge was the last loose end I needed tied up.

Anyone else have anything to share about Larsson’s series?

Next on the list…The Help.

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

