Where My Writer’s Block is Coming From

I figured it out.

I figured out why I have barely written over the past few weeks. It’s because the most important thing in my life right now is something I can’t share too many details about. Every spring semester for the past four years, the dance team has worked on one routine for the entire semester in preparation for Nationals. We learn a dance in two days then spend endless hours cleaning every count down to the most minuscule details. Where exactly is your head angled? Is it big donut holes to the front here? Is your right leg bent? How much? Flat back or contract? Every. Single. Count.

But, I can’t elaborate. I can’t share our theme, our music, anything. I have dozens of videos of sections taped at practice that I’d love to share, but no way. In true Bring It On style, the routine is top secret until Nationals.

So really, in comparison, everything else seems irrelevant, or not as important as the fact that Nationals is next week. 

What’s a girl to do when the only thing worth blogging about is something I can’t blog about?

Clearly, I write about not being able to write. And I apologize to you lovely folks for the pointlessness of this post, but it’s made me feel better to figure out where my writers block is coming from.

Here’s what I can say about the team:

  • We have two practices left after our Easter break
  • We leave a week from tomorrow (Wednesday) for Daytona, Florida
  • The dance looks incredible
  • I am so proud of all the girls and honored to be a part of this team
  • I will cry for days when this is over

I will, undoubtedly, write a series of posts like last year to share the experience of Daytona when I get back.

Maybe over Easter break you’ll get a post…but as the nerves set in I feel like writing will be the last thing on my mind.

Thanks for hanging in there with me friends!!

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
Aside | This entry was posted in Dance, Special Events, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

