Phone Stack [I love this!]

I found this today while being p̶r̶o̶d̶u̶c̶t̶i̶v̶e̶ (not) and loved it immediately.

How many times have you already read about how interconnected and technologically dependent my generation is? Many times. I’m not writing to bash that, because I think it’s great how easy it is to stay connected with people you care about and access information quickly. As with anything people take this connectivity to extremes and that’s where the problems start.

You’ve been living under a rock if you haven’t heard some horrific story of someone who was texting while driving and got in an accident. No text is that important, people. And, lately, at the restaurant, I’ve run into a string of customers who don’t seem to have a problem being on their phones for their entire meal. Standard procedure as a waitress if a customer is on the phone is to avoid the table until they’re off the phone. But more and more I’ve been flagged down by patrons while they press their cell phones to their ears.

“Hun? Hi, yeah, can I place my order?”

“Oh, yes, of course.”

“Yeah, hang on a sec – I’ll have a coke and um – no I’m just at lunch – the turkey panini.”

“Ok. Curly fries, regular fries or sweet potato fries?”

“No the meeting is at – oh what? Sorry.”

“Curly fries, regular fries or sweet potato fries?”

“Oh, um, sweet potato – no, not you – thanks, hun!”

Sweet lord, it’s so rude! Not just to me but to whoever you’re on the phone with and to whoever you’re having lunch with! Like I said, I’m all about staying in touch and being connected, but there is a line, people.

My grandmother used to make all the cousins put our phones away when we went out to dinner and I used to think she was being old-fashioned. Everyone has cell phones, Grandma. We don’t think it’s rude. But you know what? It is rude! If you’re sitting down to eat with someone, they should have your undivided attention which is why I love the phone stack idea.

Everyone at the table puts their phones face down in a stack in the middle of the table. Go ahead and leave them on vibrate or whatever, because it will test your will power as, throughout the meal, the phone stack emits beeps, tones, and vibrations. The catch? First to pick up their phone picks up the bill. Genius.

We all put so much value on keeping in touch via our various electronic devices, but what about staying in touch in life? If you’re too concerned about what you might be missing, you’ll miss what’s right in front of you.

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

