It Got Better!

First off, apologies for my absence from the blog-o-sphere. My life has consisted entirely of work lately as the store is busiest in September, and I just haven’t been able to find it in me to compose a thought-worthy blog post when I get home at night (read: my boyfriend got me Portal 2 and it’s consumed my evenings).

ANYWAY.

I actually have something worth sharing today!

My alma mater (alma mater, what?!) decided today, after much deliberation, to revise its non-discrimination policy to include sexual orientation.

!!!

This is fantastic news mostly because I know so many passionate people have worked so hard to see this happen. At the end of my senior year the “It Needs To Get Better” movement found renewed vigor after many years on the shelf. It started with this video. Although the video sparked the fire, faculty members expressed concern that students wouldn’t be able to sustain interest over the fast-approaching summer.

FALSE!

A core group of extremely motivated and passionate students started up a Facebook group and kept its 2,000+ members informed about their progress. They urged students, alumni, and faculty members to compose emails to board members and provided emails to do so. As the date of the Trustee’s meeting approached people started sharing their emails which inspired me to write my own.

After much anticipation, it was announced today that the board voted unanimously to include sexual orientation in its non-discrimination policy.

My four years at my college were incredibly amazing. The community there already embraced all types of people, but now the official policy reflects the sense of unity the school has.

I am so proud of my alma mater! 🙂

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in School and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Got Better!

  1. Julie says:

    This is really impressive for a catholic school. Congratulations to all of you who made it happen.

Leave a Reply

