When Life Gives You Lemons…

I’m an optimist. I’m very good at finding the so-called silver lining in every situation and staying positive even when things look bleak.

Why? Because if I’m going to be in a situation, I like to make the best of it. If I’m going to be in a situation (especially if I’m going to be there a while), I’d much rather find all the things that are great about it than brood on the things that aren’t so great.

But.

There comes a point when the things that aren’t so great aren’t so easy to overshadow with positive thinking. There comes a point when you need to be realistic with yourself.

When life gives you lemons, don’t convince yourself that it’s chocolate cake.

The last few months of my life have been an absolute roller coaster. I’ve moved not once, but twice, started a new job, and begun to forge a life for myself in the real world. And, for the most part, things were great.

The great things were being near my friends. Being close enough to help coach my college dance team. Working in the dance world. Did I mention being near my friends? That was a big plus.

But, this weekend, after several weeks of thought, I decided it was time to make a change in my life, and found very rapidly that even if I wasn’t ready for it, change was coming anyway. Good thing I was ready!

Are there things I’ll miss about living in MA? Yes. Mostly my friends and my team. But this change is really, really, for the better. This change has allowed me to re-evaluate where I want to be and how I’m going to get there. I feel like I’m back on track, heading down a path with my goals in mind.

When life gives you lemons, and you realize it’s not chocolate cake, why would you keep the lemons? Hand back the lemons. Say, “thanks, but no thanks, life. I’ll have some chocolate cake please.” And, if you’re lucky, life will oblige. 🙂

 

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Thoughts, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When Life Gives You Lemons…

  1. Julie says:

    Very wise (and discreet!).

  2. Marisa Montinieri says:

    You’ve got the right idea honey and I know for sure that optimism runs deep in our family so good for you for embracing it and moving on. I love and admire you…XO Auntie M.

  3. Julie says:

    dolly: I want a piece of that cake With YOU NEXT WEEKEND….i LOVE YOU (DAD)

Leave a Reply

