Who Will You Side With?

In honor of tonight’s third and final Presidential debate, I thought I’d do a political theme post! Now, don’t go running for the hills. I’m not here to tout my beliefs try to convince you of what to think or who to vote for.

I feel that I’ve only recently jumped onto the political scene and thus I have much to learn. My boyfriend is the well-informed one and I must give credit to him for the site I’m going to share with all you lovely folks today.

Because, regardless of your political party, of your stance on social, economic, or defense issues, what is most important is that you are informed.

Far, far too many voters are uninformed about their options with the upcoming election. When I told my sister I was reading about the other presidential candidates she said, “Isn’t it just Obama and Romney now?” No, no it’s not, and sadly she’s not the only one under this impression.

No matter who you vote for, I urge you to really investigate your candidate. Educate yourself. Your vote matters.

And while we’re on the topic, I’m going to offer what seems a bit of obvious advice: vote for who you think will be the best President. Obvious, right? But recently I told someone I was thinking about voting for a third-party candidate and that person told me that another candidate “needed my vote,” that it would be a waste to vote for someone who wasn’t going to win.

You know what’s a waste? Voting for a candidate you don’t really support. That sort of mentality defeats the entire purpose of our voting system. So I say again, vote for who you think will be the best President. Don’t vote for who your parents tell you to vote for. Don’t vote for the democratic candidate because you live in a “blue” state. Don’t vote for the republican candidate because you live in a “red” state. Don’t not vote for someone out of fear of wasting your vote. 

Now that I’ve got you all fired up and ready to vote, I urge you to visit this site which lets you take a survey on a pretty broad spectrum of topics. It also gives you a broad spectrum of possible answers (beyond a simple yes or no). The results match you with a presidential candidate, and yes, third-party candidates are accounted for. It even has your candidates for senate as well.

Make a difference this election. Educate yourself on the issues, form your own opinions, figure out what you think. Then research your candidates, take that survey, share your results. Let your vote be heard.

iSideWith <–survey here

In case you’re curious I matched up 92% with Jill Stein, Green party candidate. 🙂

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Nerdy Stuff, Special Events, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who Will You Side With?

  1. Pingback: Third-Party Debate | MMWords

  2. Pingback: Your Voice | MMWords

Leave a Reply

