Trick or Treat?

We live on a quiet street in CT, so we don’t usually get a ton of trick or treaters, but this was the first year I was home to hand out candy so you can bet I was going to do it right.

Step 1: select your costume. I found an awesome witch hat in our downstairs closet so I based my outfit around that. I did not want to spend a lot of money, so I worked with what I had. Also, I should mention that you should not wait until 12pm on Halloween to start your costume. Oops.

Step 2: Assemble costume. Seeing as I was going with a Halloween classic I really wanted to do it well. I wasn’t going to wear all black, don a hat, and call it a day. I raided my sister’s closet (she’s in Italy, shhh) and found some great boots, pulled out one of my sequined black tops and a pair of black leggings. All I needed was a skirt.

I had been seeing these awesome tutu’s on, you guessed it, Pinterest, and thought to myself, Hey, I could do that, and with purple and black tulle to make a witch skirt. So I headed to Joanne fabrics and picked up:

  • 5 yards of black tulle
  • 5 yards of purple tulle
  • the very last of a bolt of black tulle that had silver and purple spider webs on it (my hat had spider webs on it…too perfect to pass up!)…it was about a yard
  • A yard of 3/4 inch elastic band

Make sure if you’re going to attempt this skirt that you get stiff tulle, otherwise your skirt will not be awesome and poofy.

To make my skirt I followed this video:

She did a great job explaining the steps. The only thing I did different was I used an elastic band for the waistband instead of a ribbon. I alternated black and purple until the whole band was covered then I went back and added accents of my spider web fabric. Then, I just tied the elastic band in a knot to fit my waist and cut off the extra.

Voila!

The skirt totally made my outfit.

Last but not least, it was time to finish off my look with some witch makeup. My inspiration for my makeup was this video:

But I ended up being a little pressed for time so I just did a basic purple eye shadow look then added in the spiderwebs and some rhinestones. For my lips I used a makeup set called “Makeup Forever” that I got forever ago at Sephora and just mixed some colors to get a good purple. I also used black eye liner as a lip liner. Creepy!

Step 3: Get some Halloween candy. Luckily, my mom completed this step for me, otherwise I would have been a little pressed for time.

Step 4: Light the pumpkins!

Step 5: Await the trick or treaters!

We had a decent amount of traffic on our street and I got lots of compliments on my costume!

Hope everyone had a great Halloween!

 

 

 

About MMM

Resolving to write in 2011!
This entry was posted in Special Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trick or Treat?

  1. Julie says:

    You looked great and made it fun!

Leave a Reply

